Samoa Football > News > National Team > U19 Men’s Gears up for Oceania Tournament

U19 Men’s Gears up for Oceania Tournament

The Samoa National U-19 Men’s Football team is ready for the Oceania Football Confederation Preliminary Championship 2018. The tournament will be held in Cook Islands from the 26 May to the first week of June.  Four teams confirmed to participate in the preliminary round including Cook Islands, Samoa, Tonga and American Samoa.

Yesterday afternoon officially announced the 21 squad to attend the OFC U19 Championship stage 1 tournament.

The Samoa football team is scheduled to leave this Sunday for a two week camp in Auckland before heading to the Cook Islands on the 23rd this month.

Assistant Coach Desmond Edward shared the team has made huge progress in their performance. “At this very moment the confidences in the boys have seemed to build up to play as a group and that is a good sign. They are starting to reach the level that we are expecting them to perform in.”

“We want to win the first stage so that we could focus on the next tournament ahead, we are not after any prize money but our goal is to expose our young talented local players and make it to the World Cup.” Edward said.

Official Team List 


Name                                                        Club

  1. Ioane Ale                                          Park Eagles (AUS)
  2. Tipi Smith                                        Faatoia SC (SAM)
  3. Mathew Castro                               Torrey Pines Varisty (USA)
  4. Harlen Russell                                Onehunga Sport (NZ)
  5. Jay Popese                                       Vaipuna SC (SAM)
  6. Daniele Scaroni                               Lepea FC (SAM)
  7. Samuelu Malo                                 Kiwi FC (SAM)
  8. KK Faamatau                                  Vaipuna SC (SAM)
  9. Laauli Blakelock                             Phoenix Academy (NZ)
  10. Darcy Knight                                   South Auckland (NZ)
  11. Sean Atherton                                 New Zealand
  12. Peter Felise                                      Lepea SC (SAM)
  13. Dilo Tumua                                     Vaipuna SC (SAM)
  14. Tawa Saofaiga                                Lepea SC (SAM)
  15. Paul Felise                                      Lepea FC (SAM)
  16. Jeffery Leiataua                            Faatoia SC (SAM)
  17. Samu Tauasa                                 Moaula FC (SAM)
  18. Stanley Mamea                             Kiwi FC (SAM)
  19. Osa Savelio                                    Lepea FC (SAM)
  20. Junior Laou                                  Moaula FC (SAM)
  21. Damian Betham                           Faleasiu Kids (SAM)



Name                                                                  Position                              

  1. Valerio Raccuglia                                       Head Coach
  2. Des Edward                                                 Assistant Coach
  3. Fuata Lai Tautiaga                                     Team Manager
  4. Leemo Sofara                                              Gear Manager
  5. Kareti Soafa                                                 Goalkeeper Coach
  6. Elvera Lam                                                  Medic
  7. Muliamesealii George Tagiilima             Head of Delegation

Related posts