Samoa Football > About FFS


Football Federation Samoa (FFS) was founded in 1968.

In December 2008, after the suspension of the then Samoa Football Soccer Federation from FIFA, a Normalisation Committee was set up under the guidance of FIFA to rectify administrative issues faced by the Federation.

Former All White, Colin Tuaa, took on the difficult task of rebuilding Samoan football. In his 12 months as CEO and chairman of the Normalisation Committee, Tuaa, a New Zealand-born Samoan made significant progress with the help of the Normalisation Committee and the Federation’s 12 affiliated clubs.

Facilities at the J.S Blatter Football Complex, Tuanaimato, have been successfully renovated and maintained. The refurbished number one football pitch was re-opened on 27 November 2009 by OFC President Reynald Tamarii and Minister of Women, Community and Social Development, Fiame Naomi Mata’afa.

Administratively, the Federation is looking sound with the employment of key administrative staff. Finally, football competitions have re-commenced in September 2009 at Tuanaimato, since activities came to a sudden halt in October 2008.

Samoan football was reinvented with a new name and logo – Football Federation Samoa (FFS) – the re-branding symbolises a new beginning for the Federation in its mission to develop Samoan football.

At the end of Tuaa’s 12 months contract, Frederick Young was appointed CEO Designate to carry on the progress. From a marketing and finance background, Young brought the skills and knowledge required to operate the business-side of FFS in continuing the progress made.

The historic FFS Elective Congress was held on 19 March 2011 and this brought the normalisation process to an end with the election of Savae Togia Toetu Petana as President. A new Executive board was also elected consisting of Reverend Laupama Solomona, Palota Asiata, Faumuina Michael Kapisi and Emily Young.

FFS experienced a change of guard after the passing of late President Savae Togia Toetu Petana in April 2014. Reverend Laupama Solomona stepped up to Acting President and  Michael Kapisi was appointed as CEO in July 2014 after the departure of long serving FFS CEO Sarai Bareman. This left a vacancy on the Executive Committee, which was filled by President of the Lepea Soccer Club, Siueva Auelua.

In 2015, Elective Congress appointed Rev. Laupama Solomona as the new President, Palota Asiata as the Vice President, new Executive Board members Papali’i Samuel Leslie Petaia and Sioasi Tagiilima joining Emily Young and Sefine Kapisi.

On February 23, 2019 FFS held it’s Ordinary Congress. Papali’i Samuel Leslie Petaia has been appointed as the new President, a replacement to Laupama Solomona whilst Fuata La’i Tautiaga was appointed as the new Vice President.  Eddie Gabriel of Lepea FC replaced Siueva Auelua in the Executive Committee with Emily Young, Sefine Kapisi, Laupama Solomona and George Tagilima.

The new leadership team will continue to govern and develop the game of football in Samoa until the next FFS Elective Congress in 2023.