Samoa Football > News > OFC U-17 Championship > Under 17 Named for Tahiti

Under 17 Named for Tahiti

Story by: Sina Seevaetasi

Football Federation Samoa has named the final squad for Samoa’s U17 Team. The team listed below will be travelling to Tahiti to compete in the final round of the O.F.C U17 Championship from February 11-24. Samoa is pooled with Fiji, Solomon Islands, and New Zealand. Samoa’s first opponent will be New Zealand on February 12, then Fiji on February 15 and finally Solomon Islands February 18th. The top two teams from this tournament will proceed to the U17 World Cup which will be held in October this year. Trials held at the J.S. Blotter field saw some of the best Samoa has to offer all vying for a spot on the roster. Although many showed out, Samoa can only afford to take the best to the Championship. It’s as if selectors have searched the four corners of the Earth looking to uncover great talent from Samoans near and far. The roster features Samoans from throughout the Pacific such as Harlan Russell and Darcy Knight who are both of Samoan Heritage but based out of New Zealand and Dante Mariner based out of England. The boys are in good hands as they are coached by one of Samoa’s finest, Desmond Fa’aiuaso. Fa’aiuaso has an amazing football career, first debuting for Samoa in the qualifier for the World Cup in April 2001. Since then, Fa’aiuaso has not slowed down one bit. Fa’aiuaso was also the coach that led the U17 team to victory in the Preliminary stages of the Tournament in July last year. Now fielding an even stronger team, Samoa is set to shine on stage in Tahiti.

  • Official Roster:
  • Eti FATU
  • Kitiona Nauer
  • Harlen Russell
  • Sefa Mamea
  • Solomon Granger
  • Stanley Mamea
  • Willie Sauiluma
  • Jackson Nautu
  • Darcy Knight
  • Falaniko Nanumea
  • Dante Mariner
  • Talita Hafoka
  • Lotial Mano
  • Dilo Tumua
  • Jefferson Faamatau
  • Jay Popese
  • Osa Savelio
  • Julius Duffy
  • Elijah Theodor
  • Jenuem Kepu
  • Head Coach- Desmond Fa’aiuaso
  • Assistant Coach- Masato Tsuchiya
  •   GK Coach-Ricky Slade
  • Team Manager- Sauni Asiata
  • Gear Manager- Aron Kapisi
  • Technical Advisor- Scott Easthope
  • Head of Delegation- Afamasaga Sefine Kapisi

Related posts