Samoa Football > News > Business House > NUS: 2010 Champions!!!

NUS: 2010 Champions!!!

In the final NUS faced off against the National Bank of Samoa Team (NBS), which was played at the J.S. Blatter Football Complex at Tuanaimato, and was organized by the Football Federation Samoa (FFS).
After losing in the final last year, NUS were determined to make it right. Both teams started the game defensively and determined not to concede an early goal. NUS made it a priority to keep National Bank striker and top goal scorer Ah Ki Reupena from creating scoring opportunities.
With the game scoreless at half time both teams in the second half started to play more attacking football with both goalkeepers forced to make some good saves. Aleni Netzler from NUS came closest to scoring the winner in the final minutes of the game, however his shoot from outside the penalty area hit the post.
With the match also scoreless at fulltime it went into a penalty shootout which NUS won 3-2, Misi Koikasan scoring the wining goal for NUS.
NUS Staff President and player Mulipola John Lafaele was delighted after the final: “It’s an incredible feeling winning the tournament, especially since we worked hard this year. There were many good teams in the competition and we had to focus on teamwork and discipline in order for us to win”.
Elisara Leavai captain of NBS was disappointed with his team not winning the final, he however added: “All the player’s put in a huge amount of effort during the final, hopefully next time we will be able to go one better and win. I also would like to thank the organizing committee for organizing the tournament, it was a lot of fun”.
In the days other results Ministry of Police won the Plate competition against Computer Services Limited 3-2. Redbacks won 2-1 against Tradepac Marketing in the Bowl competition, and Fono’s Takeaway’s secured the Tanoa competition with a 4-1 win against Legislative Assembly.
After the final a price giving was held for all the participating teams.
FFS CEO Fred Young was pleased with how the tournament went and he added: “I would like to congratulate all the participating teams who played in this year’s tournament. The games were played in good sprite and the interest has increased significantly this year, which explains the 32 teams that entered the competition”.